Free will?

“None is righteous, no, not one;
 no one understands;
no one seeks for God.
All have turned aside; together they have become worthless;
no one does good, not even one.” Romans 3:11-12

No one seeks God. No one. How then can I use my free will to choose God if NO ONE seeks God? How can I, who is dead in my sins, come back to life and choose God? How does this free will operate in light of Scripture? I am dead in my sin and I do not seek after God yet I magically and mysteriously choose to become born again and to follow God? Does that mean then that I am the author of my own salvation? Psalm 3:8 tells me that salvation belongs to the Lord, so I can’t be responsible for my own salvation. 

Leave a Reply

