Who do you serve?

I’ve come to the conclusion that Christians are either scared of God’s sovereignty, or they simply just don’t understand it. There is a real problem in the church when we attribute so much of what happens to fate or to chance. We act as though God must be surprised, or didn’t see something coming when the unexpected happens. We think that if things don’t go our way then maybe we didn’t pray the right way, or we didn’t pray enough, or the words were wrong, or maybe there’s not enough people praying. We fail to understand that God is sovereign over all things, and everything is exactly the way it’s meant to be. 

God is never surprised by what happens. He doesn’t suddenly have to revert to a plan B if plan A fails, because plan A never fails. God is in control of everything, and everything that happens is inside of His will. If you fail to believe this, then you must ask yourself who you are serving. Let’s look at what the God says about Himself in His word:

Psalm 115:3 “Our God is in the heavens; he does all that he pleases.”

Psalm 135:6 “Whatever the Lord pleases, he does, in heaven and on earth, in the seas and all deeps.”

Isaiah 46:9b-11 “for I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me, declaring the end from the beginning and from ancient times things not yet done, saying, ‘My counsel shall stand, and I will accomplish all my purpose,’ calling a bird of prey from the east, the man of my counsel from a far country. I have spoken, and I will bring it to pass; I have purposed, and I will do it.”

Jeremiah 32:27 “Behold, I am the Lord,the God of all flesh. Is anything too hard for me?”

Daniel 4:35 “all the inhabitants of the earth are accounted as nothing, and she does according to his will among the host of heaven and among the inhabitants of the earth; and none can stay his hand or say to him, “What have you done?” 

Matthew 5:45b “For he makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and lsends rain on the just and on the unjust.”

Acts 17:26 “And he made from one man every nation of mankind to live yon all the face of the earth, having determined allotted periods and the boundaries of their dwelling place,”

Psalm 47:2-4a “For the Lord, the Most High, is to be feared, a great king over all the earth. He subdued peoples under us, and nations under our feet. He chose our heritage for us”

Psalm 33:10 “The Lord brings the counsel of the nations to nothing; he frustrates the plans of the peoples.”

Lamentations 3:37-38 “Who has spoken and it came to pass, unless the Lord has commanded it? Is it not from the mouth of the Most High that good and bad come?”

Deuteronomy 32:39 “See now that I, even I, am he, and there is no god beside me; I kill and I make alive; I wound and I heal; and there is none that can deliver out of my hand.”

Amos 3:6-7 “If a trumpet is blown in a city will not the people tremble? If a calamity occurs in a city has not the Lord done it?”

There are many, many other verses that tell us of God’s sovereignty over all things, but i think you get my point. God tells us that He is sovereign, that He is all powerful, and that He is in control. Why do we continue to disbelieve it? Is it easier to believe in a God who is weak, powerless, and unable to act? I think it is, because then people think that they have control over their own lives, and the free will to do whatever they please. But this belief is contrary to the Bible, so therefore, it is deception, it is false. 

I think that we struggle with God’s sovereignty so much because we are selfish and we want to feel as though we have the choice to do whatever we like. We want to take some of the credit for being saved; we like to think that we are smarter than everyone else so therefore we chose God. Or otherwise, we like to think that maybe we’re a little better than everyone else so God chose us. We also don’t like to accept God’s sovereignty because then when tragedy and suffering happens (and it always does), then we can’t understand why God would want that for us. We think that God wants us to be happy and comfortable, and prosperous all of the time but God cares more about our character than our comfort, and He wants us to go through difficult times of loss, pain, suffering and sickness so that we can become more dependent on Him, and more Christlike in our natures. He is sovereign over all that happens to us. He is sovereign over every decision we make, and everything we do. There is no plan B because everything is exactly as it should be at all times. We are called to be obedient to Him, and to live godly lives according to His word. We are called to trust Him with every area of our lives. We need to get our heads around the importance of submitting to His sovereignty. God is not powerless and confused. Nothing takes Him by surprise and only what He has predestined to pass will come to pass. We can relax and trust in Him. If your god is not sovereign over all things, if he is taken by surprise and has to quickly think of a plan B, if you think you can sway him with fancy prayers and petitions, then you are not serving the God of the Bible. You are serving a god of your making. If your god is not sovereign why would you even want to serve him? Why would you want to serve a god so inconsistent and weak? I wouldn’t want to and I don’t. I serve the God of the Bible, the God who is exactly who He says He is. A God who is all powerful, sovereign, and in control of all things. And I am glad, because He can be God and i can be me. I can rest knowing that everything is exactly the way it’s meant to be, even when I don’t understand it.

Leave a Reply

