What’s Wrong With Biblical Patriarchy

A Daughter of the Reformation

As a homeschooling family, we come in contact with people from a wide variety of backgrounds and beliefs. One of the groups that is fairly common within the homeschooling community is the modern patriarchy movement, or as they refer to it “Biblical Patriarchy.” Some of the big names in this group include, R.C. Sproul, Jr., Doug Phillips of Vision Forum, and Doug Wilson of Credenda Agenda magazine. R.C. Sproul, Jr. and Doug Phillips have put together a list of tenets to help define Biblical Patriarchy. They define the reason for the movement this way:

We emphasize the importance of biblical patriarchy, not because it is greater than other doctrines, but because it is being actively attacked by unbelievers and professing Christians alike. Egalitarian feminism is a false ideology that has bred false doctrine in the church and seduced many believers. In conscious opposition to feminism, egalitarianism, and the…

View original post 2,122 more words

2 thoughts on “What’s Wrong With Biblical Patriarchy

  1. I would be interested in your thoughts on this article, FOT. I read it and am not sure what to make of the whole BP movement. R C Sproul has for me been a solid teacher and great encouragement to me. I didn’t realise he was a part of this movement, and some of the patriarchy stuff makes me uneasy as it seems very legalistic. I have decided to investigate for myself so I am planning to see Voddie Baucham speak when he is in Melbourne next weekend. Happy to let you know what I find, if you are interested.

    Thanks and blessings, Sherryn
    (sherrynloke@gmail.com)

    • Thanks Sherryn. I’d much appreciate it. I too enjoy the teachings of Sproul and especially, Voddie Baucham. I have a huge problem with the patriarchal teachings, but I think they are widely accepted in reformed circles, and unavoidable to a point. Looking forward to hearing back from you.

Leave a Reply

